Posted by: Leap of Faith | May 20, 2012

Of Caffeine Overload and City Tours


I woke up really early today – could not sleep well since I drank too much coffee from a night out with close friends. After tossing and turning several times in bed, I gave up and realized that the caffeine overload was enough to keep me awake for several days – aargh!

That was when I had a bright idea of downloading the phone applications of WordPress and Flickr. Hopefully, having these will give me less reason to not work on updating my site.

I’ve decided that the next few posts which I will make will focus on sharing photos of our lovely city, Brisbane. We’ve been living here for more than a year now and, so far, we have seen a lot of beautiful and interesting places. Of course, I know that there will be more exciting places to discover and I will share these to you as and when we find it.

Our city was built around the lovely Brisbane river, which zigzags across and divides the place between North and South. One of the most popular places to visit here is the South Bank, which is the cultural hub where most of the major museums and the Queensland Performing Arts Centre (QPAC) is located. Interestingly, this is also where most Brisbanites go when they want to relax, bask in the sun, enjoy some barbie while still have amazing views of the CBD.

20120520-052300.jpg

Right beside QPAC is the Brisbane Wheel, which is a great way of seeing the city from above. Unfortunately, though, my family has yet to muster our fear of heights and conquer this one of these days.

20120520-052739.jpg

One of my favorite features of this city park are the lovely walkways, which are covered by those year-long flowers-in-bloom.

20120520-053047.jpg

The man made beach is, arguably, the highlight of this place. Even during winter, people flock here to enjoy a dip in the pool!

20120520-053444.jpg

This beautiful artwork caught my daughter’s attention – this was just one of many in the whole park!

20120520-055155.jpg

20120520-055224.jpg

20120520-055239.jpg

Of course, the best way to capture the spirit of the city is by riding the City Cat, which travels both streams of the mighty river.

20120520-055311.jpg

The Story Bridge is definitely a city icon. Designed by the same person who did the world famous Sydney Harbour Bridge, this lesser-known structure is equally as beautiful nonetheless (only half of the bridge is seen in the above photo).

20120520-060408.jpg

Australia’s “New World City” – definitely one of the best places to live in this part of the world.

I definitely have more photos to share but will do this in my next post. Until then, have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

Categories

