Posted by: Leap of Faith | November 6, 2010

Revving Up and Ready to Go


It’s my third week here in Brisbane and all the basic appliances and furniture that we need for our house have been delivered and installed.  I know I should be thankful but, somehow, the anxiety of still not being able to find a suitable job that is aligned with my skill set (and that can eventually sustain our family’s needs) is seriously starting to worry me.

I met some agents a few weeks ago but, so far, they have not yet been able to provide any good opportunities for me – even though the job market here is supposedly picking-up.  One factor seems to be working against me – and other new migrants, I assume – the so-called “lack of local experience”.  Ironically, though, the only way for you to obtain this requirement is to land a job and experience how it is to work firsthand for a local corporation… so you see now that I seem to be in a “chicken-and-egg” rut here? 😦  

Anyway, despite the occasional moments of fear and doubt, I try very hard to maintain a more positive outlook and believe that God will help us again get through these minor bumps on the road. Everything happens in His own time and I believe this is just not yet the right moment for me.  

As for now, I have decided to focus all my energy on polishing my driving skills so I can obtain my local license as soon as possible. Once I get through that hurdle, my next objective is to buy our car. Exciting! 

So, to all of you out there, I suggest you strap your seatbelts and get ready as I rev up our engine and bring this Australian adventure to a whole new level. Wish me the best of luck  – better yet, continue praying for our family’s intentions – and I hope you all enjoy the ride!

(Photo taken from www.zercustoms.com)

 

 

  

  

 

Responses

  1. “For the vision still has its time, presses on to fulfillment, and will not disappoint; If it delays, wait for it, it will surely come, it will not be late.”
    Habakkuk 2:3

    • Salamat, Pam. Thanks for sharing this – really appropriate for my situation now.

  2. Hon, these are surely “exciting” times for our family. I know it’s easier said than done but I guess we just have to hold on to God’s promise that He will sustain our family in this new land that He has led us into.

    Hang in there. Remember, His time is always the perfect time so we just have to pray that He gives us the grace and patience to wait.

    Love you!

    • Yes, God has always blessed our family and he has always provided for our needs. I guess I just have to be more patient. I’m sure things will be a lot better when all of you are here.

  3. Hang in there on that job search. I feel for you as my own business has been really slow due to the economic downturn here in the US. I’m really worried to. But certain things keep me pressing on. Proverbs 28:20 “A faithful man will abound with blessings”. I’ll also share this famous quote with you that always encourages me. From the great Winston Churchill, “Never, never, never, never give up!”.

    • Thanks so much, Goyo. I guess in times like these we just really need to strengthen our faith and let God do his work. I hope things get better for you soon.

  4. wont they count your overseas experience? yes, most migrants encounter that problem about local experience but, keep your hopes up! with your skills and experience, i’m sure it will just be a matter of time. kasama sa birthing pains yan 🙂

    actually, that was one of the things hubby and i were considering when we decided to move to canada – yung lack of local experience – and if he would be able to find work that would not “demean” him, haha! but, hubby has been working overseas for the past 15 years, 8 of which are “north american experience” and we’ve been told that it counts! yey!

    if worse comes to worst, i’ve also been told that its “normal” to first take on an entry-level job and then, after a year or less, jump ship to the job that’s perfect for you. any job, even if its a fastfood server job, counts as local experience na rin daw. i have a friend who is a successful CPA in manila, but had to take a cashier’s job sa mcdo for the first 6 months. after that, she resigned and applied for a real accounting job and got it. 🙂 but then again, she had to take that meager job muna because every cent counted especially since her three kids depended on her and her baon na “seed money” was slowly trickling away. of course, hers is an extreme case. i’m sure you will be able to snag more than just an entry-level opportunity, ikaw pa!

    basta, keep the faith! we’ll be praying for you 🙂

    • Thanks so much, Meeya. Yes, I’ve heard so many stories like these. It really is a challenge for migrants like us. I actually thought my work experience in the Middle East will at least help to establish that I can work well even under different circumstances but apparently it doesn’t count much here. Anyway, I’m sure the right job will come soon.

      Hey, you’ll be leaving for Canada soon. I hope everything works out fine for all of you too! Thanks for the prayers. We’ll include you intentions in our prayers too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

