Posted by: Leap of Faith | May 18, 2010

It’s Showtime!


One of the joys of being a parent is seeing your children grow up and accomplish their milestones. In fact, our video camera was my best friend when it came to capturing on video almost every activity that our boys did when they were toddlers.  However, ever since we moved to Saudi Arabia four years ago, my “documenting” has been less frequent than I would have wanted – since we have been very cautious not to offend the sensibilities of  more conservative locals.  Sadly, that only meant one thing – that I have fewer videos of my children – specially my daughter – as they were hitting their “desert milestones”.

Thankfully, I was able to take a video of Marga’s first ever public performance during the annual Pre-School Day in their school, which is somewhat like their version of a “moving up” day in a lot of pre-schools in the Philippines.  Unfortunately, I still have to figure out how to edit and upload the video to our computer and that will definitely take some time… say, 20 years, perhaps! 😳   So, what’s the next best option?  Share our “proud parent moment” by bombarding this entry with lots and lots of pictures – he he he! :mrgreen: 

Hope you guys enjoy these!

My daughter’s class, Reception B (aka Team Yellow – how Noynoy can you get? 😉 ), enters the auditorium waving  their pompoms.

Marga looks back to check if we were capturing it all on video! (Thank God we were!)

This is Lucy, she was waving her pompom to her mom and dad who were seated beside us.  All of the kids were so excited to perform for their parents.

Marga and her dance partner, Fahdi. Don’t you think they make a cute couple?

Another shot of Fahdi… too bad the camera did not focus well.

Ever since Marga saw Fatima’s dress in school, she has been repeating to us how much wanted to change her simple yellow Gap dress for a long beaded gown.  I’m sure Marga’s thought bubble here was “strip off that gown and give it to me… NOW!” 😆

What’s funny is that Marga also claims that one of the boys she fancies in school, Omar, likes Fatima too! Hmmm, do I sense a love triangle brewing somewhere?   

Fahdi introduces his class.

Pardon my bias but without question, our daughter was the star of the show!  Be it in singing a song, reciting a poem or dancing to the tune of  “Yellow Polka Dot Bikini”, she was definitely at “mega-performance level” mode!  What a trooper – showbiz talaga!

After the show, the kids went back to their classroom to have some snacks.  The parents, on the other hand, were busy taking pictures. 

Photo with Teacher Lona (in maroon) and Ms Mercy (in yellow) their homeroom adviser and teacher assistant, respectively.

We’re proud to have you as our daughter, Marga! 

Please promise me that you won’t grow up too fast, sweetheart!  We love you!

 

 

 

Responses

  1. Beautiful pics – and thanks for reminding me to get the video camera out again!!

    • Thanks so much. Yes, try to capture as much as you can and keep all those wonderful special moments alive.

  2. I’m sure this is one happy moment that Marga will remember for a very long time. 🙂 We will too, I bet!

    Don’t know why but I’m suddenly reminded of “Sunrise, Sunset”… “Is this the little girl I carried? Is this the little boy at play? I don’t remember growing older… when did they?” 😉

    • Don’t get me started, Hon. I’m getting all sentimental now – you know how separation anxiety runs heavily in my veins!

  3. I got particular of your second to the last sentence. That’s how I am currently feeling about my son, and just blogged minutes back =) . That last picture sure will bring nostalgia years from now…

    First I noticed of the pictures is that Marga’s the shortest in height. Disregarding the races, I feel how smart she is to be able to cope with the rest of the class. So here’s here’s hats off to her mom and dad =)

    • Beverly, iba talaga tayong mga doting parents – he he he!

      Yes, she is actually the shortest and, probably, one of the youngest too. What is funny is that Ms Mercy, the Pinoy assistant, gave her special treatment because she thought the bigger kids might be rough on her. She told me recently that it seemed she was wrong! Marga can stand her ground despite her very petite frame.

  4. The children are so cute. Children’s presentations are all so special. Of course, Marga, was definitely the star of the show! I can tell by the looks of the proud Papa and Mama. 😀

    And also I wish you good luck and the best of times when you get to the land of OZ.

    • Hi Goyo! It’s been a while. Hope all is well with you and Mrs Goyo.

      Yes, presentations of children are so nice to watch. They never fail to make me smile.

      Hope our new adventure turns out okay. Please do keep in touch.

  5. Such a cutie!!! Yellow suits her…at ganda ng cheeks ha, fink! Sadly, as early as now you need to accept (even with a denying heart) that she will grow…at magpapaiyak ng mga boys hehe.

    • Hi G! I must agree that yellow does suit her and that light pink blush on came out nice too. Of course, I’m a doting father and would have said anything would look nice on her since she’s my daughter – he he he!

      Oh, must you remind me of what the future holds. I’m actually conditioning her that I should be the only boy in her life – he he he! Of course, I don’t think it will work, though.


Leave a Reply

Categories

