Posted by: Leap of Faith | March 19, 2010

His Egg was Soft and Rubbery


Can you crack the case of the soft-shelled egg?  No? Well, then, let my young scientist, Rafael, and his friends help you.

All you need are three simple materials:

(1) a happy-looking but slightly insane egg, (2) a clear jar and (3) the most sour cane vinegar you can ever find – Datu Puti (“Mukhasim talaga!”). My family, of course, does have our own biases given that this is a home-grown Philippine brand.

Put the vinegar inside the bottle and soak the egg overnight – told you the egg had to be insane – and what do you get?

An insanely soft, big, rubbery egg!

This was my son’s experiment during his recent school Science Fair held last Wednesday. 

I personally feel that school activities like this should be held more frequently as it encourages young minds to not only be inquisitive but also to have fun while at it.  The presentations were alternately done by all the students in front of the parents – which, while very nerve-wracking for them, I’m sure, will definitely develop their confidence and skill in public speaking.

Without any biases, my son’s presentation was one of the best in his class not only because he had the nicest looking presentation board – all thanks to my very artistic wife – but also because he presented his report clearly to everyone.  Too bad his egg became very soft and rubbery that it exploded before any one could even touch it (oh, pardon how that came out so “green” sounding). 😉

 

Anyway, here are some of the other projects of his classmates in grade school.

The human joints – made out of pencils, paper clips and rubber bands – neat, huh? 

This is an experiment about rocks and minerals…

… while these were about electromagnetism – dig that!

And, finally, how about the human body?

This one was, arguably, the most creative for me.  It highlighted how the digestive system works.  Liquid was fed into that skull and it went to a series of tubes, which represented the small and big intestines.  Finally, guess where the liquid ended up?  In that small glass container which we can aptly call the toilet!  Crap?!  No, that’s called being creative!

For a trip down science fairs past, click here.

 

 

Responses

  1. Thanks for your blow-by-blow, Hon… it’s as if I were really there to see Rafa in action 😉 I am sure he will remember your making time to see him and attend all the special events in school and love you even more – as we all do 😉 Labyu!

    • I do hope he remembers this when he grows up. I enjoyed seeing him in action but was also curious at how the other kids did their projects. Kudos to you for always helping our kids do their projects – if it were just me, I would just print from the computer and stick it as is. Buti na lang artistic ka! I’m sure our children will remember that too!

  2. Your son’s presentation board looks really pretty! It’s so eye-catching.
    And the experiment was interesting to me. I never thought about it 🙂 We never had such science fairs in our schools in Ukraine. 😦 I think the fairs make a big deal for pupils’ minds 🙂

    • Hi Nadezhda! It’s such a pleasant surprise to receive a comment from somebody in Ukraine!

      Thanks so much for the kind words – my wife will surely feel flattered considering that she helped our son make his presentation board. I honestly lack the artistic skills to be able to help our children when it comes to matters like this – hehehe!

      I do not also remember doing science fairs when I was studying. It is a great idea, though, as it definitely builds the children’s confidence and critical thinking.

      Hope you drop by again soon.


Leave a Reply

Categories

