Posted by: Leap of Faith | February 1, 2010

Spectacular Santorini


It’s been a long time coming but I finally reached the last destination of our not-so-recent four-day mediterranean cruise in Greece.  Santorini!

Before I go on, though, I have to mention that our decision to go to this part of Europe was largely influenced by our dream to see this beautiful island.  In fact, ever since my wife and I watched For the First Time, a Filipino movie set in this island, we were inspired to save every Riyal so we can personally experience the magic of this place.

Per Wikipedia, “Santorini is essentially what remains of an enormous volcanic explosion, destroying the earliest settlements on what was formerly a single island, and leading to the creation of the current geological caldera.”  I know it sounds surreal but apparently things like this can and have happened before – no wonder, one theory states that the sunken portion of Santorini is supposedly the basis of the legend of Atlantis! See the aerial image of the island below to realize how much of this place was swallowed by the Aegean Sea.

Upon riding our tender, I was immediately awed by the breathtaking cliffs of the island and the panoramic view of the traditional white-washed Greek houses in Fira and Oia, its capital.  I suddenly felt a sense of fulfillment having been able to bring the whole family to enjoy this magnificent place. 

Although I was mostly amazed at the beauty of this island, I must admit that there were some disappointments as well.  In particular, the town of Fira and Oia have narrow roads and, considering the hundreds of tourists that go there every day, one can just imagine how crowded the places can be especially during its peak season.  What made it worse for us is the fact that we were just there for a few hours and we were rushing to see and photograph as much as we can. The major turn-off for me, though, is the long queue in the cable ride, which we took to go back to our ship.  Everyone was just seriously getting short-tempered at the fact that the line was moving at snail’s pace.  Grrr!  If only the donkey ride going down the cliff was safe, I would have opted to take that any time just to avoid the queue.

Anyway, there I said it.  Now, I feel relieved and my wife will surely love me for being truthful – even though I struggled to say ill words about this island. I hope our pictures help convince you, though, that Santorini is truly a spectacular place and really deserving of its premier status as the “it” place in Greece.

Traditional white washed houses by the cliff were abundant.  In the background, several cruise ships were docked near Oia.

These were just a few of the quaint inns, restaurants and stores that were scattered all over Fira town.

Red flowers and white walls, simple yet beautiful.

Lucky charm bracelets were a common item being sold in Santorini and the rest of Greece.

It was not hard to be inspired by this place…

… a lot of the artists even sold their masterpieces.

A traditional windmill – similar to what we saw in Mykonos.

An art gallery. Somehow I was not surprised to see one on this island.

My mom with our children.

Mi familia!

Silly Sys in Santorini! Happy times – love it.

 

 

 

 

 

    

 

 

 

Responses

  1. So, dapat talaga thankful tayo kay Richard at KC for inspiring us to see Santorini ourselves, di ba? Hahaha! 😆

    Kidding aside, I’m sure this is one holiday we will all remember with fondness for a long time. God is good… and oh-so-generous! 🙂

    Labyu!

    • Well, who else should we thank, right?! I wonder what is their next movie – for all you know we may be able to save up again for another trip there.

      God has really be good to our family. Who would have thought that we would be able to bring the whole family to all the places we’ve been to. I do hope our children remember all these as I am sure it will take a while before we are able to come back.

  2. WOW! stunning shots tito Keith. I want to go to Greece!! ang ganda ganda! one of our dream is to visit Greece kelan kaya?

    • Toni, I’m sure your whole family will love it. Joseph will enjoy taking pictures of the place – so many interesting sites to see.

      Our cruise was a great experience too. If you need help in talking to an agent there, we can help you. Try going in May – I know Gulf Air has budget fares during that month – at least maka tipid man lang sa airfare di ba?

  3. Waaahh..nasa wishlist ko na mapanood ang movie ni kc pero di ko pa napanood.
    nasa wishlist ko din ang greece na mapuntahan pero di ko pa mapuntahan!
    waaaahh.. 🙂
    joke lang..im not complaining! I always thank God for all his blessings! At blessed na blessed kayong pamilya..for you have always been faithful to His word!:)

    • Naku, that movie inspired us to have a vacation in Greece. Actually, Greece is pretty close to KSA so the cost to go there is not as expensive – another reason why we chose that place. I’m sure you will enjoy it there – Greek food is super yummy especially the salad!

  4. wow! lovely getaway huh! actually reminds me of Mamma Mia! :))
    thanks for sharing this story. :))

    • Yes, it does look like Mamma Mia! Buti you see the pictures. For some reason, we can not view this at home.


Leave a Reply

Categories

