Posted by: Leap of Faith | January 14, 2010

I Walk Not Alone


I need a break.

This week was unusually tough for me in the office.  Part of the changes to my job requirement last year was to manage the output of a small team and give annual feedback on their performance.  As is often the case during appraisal sessions, conflicts usually arise and my experience this time was no different.

While I do not want to go into details about what transpired,  I must say that coming out of this experience made me realize certain things, which I know will help me further develop myself in the future.  A few of the  personal nuggets which I bring to heart include the following:

1. Come prepared and expect the unexpected;

2. Talk but, before that, read, listen and understand first;

3. Control emotions and be objective;

4. While you may not agree with policies and people, often, tough decisions have to be made and implemented;

5. Pleasing other people is definitely the easiest path but not necessarily the one you will take; and

6. What people choose to say and do may cause wounds that, hopefully in time, will eventually heal without any scars.

I thank family and friends who gave me support but, more importantly, to God for helping me get through this major bump in the road. My journey now becomes a bit harder because of this experience but I know that, through His special graces, I will manage to walk through this new path with confidence that He is by my side. 

 

Responses

  1. Wow – at may reflection journal pa to boot – hahaha! 😀

    Kidding aside, we can never go wrong with Him by our side. I pray for the grace to always remember this especially as we face even bigger and better adventures and challenges in the future.

    Proud of you for hangin’ in there! Labyu! Mwah! 😀

    • Alam mo naman – trying as much to blog even things like this. A few months and years from now, this will be something I will laugh about (not to mention remind me of how to manage things better in the future).

      Thanks again for all your support!

  2. I understand what you’ve been going thru my friend. Though I don’t have chakras to help ease the pain, always remember that me & my family are here for you.

    However, I believe there’s someone up there that can help you.

    God will make a way,
    Where there seems to be no way
    He works in ways we cannot see
    He will make a way for me
    He will be my guide
    Hold me closely to His side
    With love and strength for each new day
    He will make a way, He will make a way.
    By a roadway in the wilderness, He’ll lead me
    And rivers in the desert will I see
    Heaven and earth will fade
    But His Word will still remain
    He will do something new today.

    God will make a way,
    Where there seems to be no way
    He works in ways we cannot see
    He will make a way for me
    He will be my guide
    Hold me closely to His side
    With love and strength for each new day
    He will make a way, He will make a way

    • Like your words of encouragement, KD. Chakras?! That made me laugh.

      Thanks, I know I can always count on you guys if my family and I need any help.

      PS: Kanta ba yon o original poem… hindi kasi ako familiar with it eh.

  3. I agree with Keith’s Six Lessons with particular emphasis on 2 and 3. As long as you’re objective and just and fair, then nothing can go wrong with you. I believe that, in final analysis of things, people admire more those whose judgments are based on fairness, than those who judge lopsidedly just so to please everybody!

    Tell them: Trabaho lang, walang personalan. Or something to that effect.

    • Thanks, Nebz! Ang hirap lang kasi medyo complicated ang opisina namin ngayon and so important yung appraisal last year – it can make or break you. Unfortunately, mukhang someone was broken this time and I had to deliver the message.


Leave a Reply

Categories

