Posted by: Leap of Faith | October 10, 2009

Springfield Lakes


I left Dammam last Aug 13 and had a brief stop (i.e. 3 days) in Manila just to see my family.  As always, it is only when I landed at the NAIA when I remembered how much I missed the hustle and bustle of this place.

Realizing how brief my vacation will be, I made sure that I did the most out of it and dining out was on top of my “to do” list.  One of the more memorable restaurants we visited with my side of the family was the Fish Out of Water located at Greenbelt 5.  The place was clean and simple but the food was superb.  My favorite dishes were the Danggit Salad and Ostrich ala Pobre, which tasted very much like tender beef! 

Danggit Salad, Fish Out of Water, Greenbelt 5

Danggit Salad, Fish Out of Water, Greenbelt 5

Ostrich Ala Pobre, Fish Out of Water, Greenbelt 5

Ostrich Ala Pobre, Fish Out of Water, Greenbelt 5

My mom and her grandchildren (plus my other niece, Alyssa)

My mom and her grandchildren (plus my other niece, Alyssa)

We flew to Brisbane, Australia on August 16 where our good friends, Donnie and Carrie (plus daughter, Tasha) Vergara graciously welcomed us to their beautiful home in Springfield Lakes. 
Vergara Residence, Springfield Lakes, Brisbane

Vergara Residence, Springfield Lakes, Brisbane

Donnie and Tasha with the Sy Family

Donnie and Tasha with the Sy Family

Immediately, Marga started to enjoy the company of Tasha, who was just a few months older than her.  Although, as expected, there were a few cat-fights every now and then, for the most part they were real best friends.  Their favorite game was the “Teddy Picnic,” which they pretended to do almost every day.

Marga and Tasha (new BFFs)

Marga and Tasha (new BFFs)

Marga and Tasha playing Teddy Picnic

Marga and Tasha playing "Teddy Picnic"

So much fun!

So much fun!

Our meals were lovingly prepared by our resident chefs, Pinky and Carrie, while I volunteered to wash the dishes.  Donnie was the official “Bar-B” man, pictures of him in action will be done in my subsequent post.

Carrie (and Pinky, not shown) preparing our dinner

Carrie (and Pinky, not shown) preparing our dinner

Springfield Lakes is one of the newer suburbs of Brisbane. We instantly fell in love with the place because it was peaceful and there were lush greenery all over the place.

The forest was just across the street.

The forest was just across the street.

The Springfield Lakes neighborhood

The Springfield Lakes neighborhood

The biggest attraction for me, though, is the nice childrens park which they had just a few meters away.  Surprisingly, even during weekdays, this place was packed with children, moms and dads.  I guess this is what they mean when they say that life in Aussie is very laid back.
Marga striking a pose.

Marga striking a pose.

 
Giddyup!

Giddyup!

Ahhhhh....swoosh!

Ahhhhh....swoosh!

So how do I move this thing?

So how do I move this thing?

Spin me around, Rafa!

Spin me around, Rafa!

Marga intimidated? Not!

Marga intimidated? Not!

Tired. Lets call it a day.

Tired. Let's call it a day.

Please stay tuned for more of our Australian adventure.  Until then.
 
 

Responses

  1. Thanks for bringing back the fun and fond memories of our recent holiday, Hon! Ooohhh… I so miss the Ostrich Salpicao (*drooling now*). And yes, Springfield Lakes seems such an idyllic place to settle in 🙂

    • Good memories from Springfield Lakes… hope there are more to come in the future.

      Salpicao nga pala yon… I thought ala pobre!


Leave a Reply

Categories

