Posted by: Leap of Faith | October 18, 2008

What is happening to the world?!


I am currently taking a breather from my work, which has been very hectic the past few weeks since the Ramadan Eid.  I am not surprised, though, as this happens every year.  Everyone slacks off during the Ramadan just to realize that there is lots of work to be done afterwards.  Grrr.  Anyway, I should not complain.

We got some depressing news from Manila.  Our previous employer (HSBC) has started to lay off several of its employees.  Last I heard, there were about 50 employees that were already classified as redundant and about 50+ more will be removed in the coming weeks.  Hay, I can not believe this is happening.  What is wrong with the world?!

I guess I am especially affected since some of our good friends lost their jobs.  The ripple effect of the crisis that started in the US is now in the Philippines. Oh my!  I guess all we can do now is pray that this will be over soon and that everyone who has been affected by it will be able to recover from this crisis.  Did you even hear about what happened to Iceland?!  Incomprehensible – a country on the verge of economic collapse.

Anyway, I have some good news that I am eager to share with all of you.  However, this is still not that right time yet.  I promise to share it once everything is in order.  In the meantime, this is all for now.

Responses

  1. Kuya, I feel for you. Sa companya rin ni Jose magkakaron ng tanggalan. UK is also very vulnerable. We’re keeping the faith, keeping the faith…

    Twinkie, naku I do pray that you will not be affected by this. Di bale, God will protect those who believe in Him.

  2. Perfect example of when the US sneezes, the whole world catches a cold… 😦

    Let’s pray that our friends who have been especially affected by this downturn may bounce back real soon and that the Lord continue to protect our own source of income as well.

    Amen. I am getting worried nga pero what can we do – nothing really but just ride the wave and hope for the best.

  3. Keith we also feel this crisis in Europe. Banks are going bankrupt and people, a whole lot, are losing their jobs…

    we can only hope that this will end soon…

    anyway, I hope you have a good week ahead!

    Naku, my brother wjo is currently based in the US ssaid that a lot of small businesses in their building have closed already due to the crisis… ang hirap mawalan ng trabaho ngayon.

  4. grabe ang mga pangyayari ano? kawawa nga yung mga magreretire na dito sa US dahil yung mga pera nilang nakainvest sa stocks, ayun! 😦

    mag-asawa nga kayo ni pinky. pareho kayong may suspense factor na “I have some good news that I am eager to share with all of you. However, this is still not that right time yet.” whatever it is, may hunch na yata ako. 😉

    we’re all eager to hear about the good news. magiging ate na si marga? hahaha! 😛

    Weng, kawawa nga yung mga nalugi sa kanilang retirement fund… nightmare yon…I do hope things improve soon.

    Naku, tama kaya yung hunch mo? Hindi buntis si Pinky ha… hehehe…

  5. ate marga? uuuyyy. 😀

    anyway, we directly feel the effects of it dahil nandito kami, and the industry my hubby is in ay totally affected. i’m praying that this crisis passes on soon, for all our sakes.

    Ate Marga? Naku, hindi, Meeya no… far from it…

    I hope you guys are okay naman. Durng this time, dasal lang talaga ang pwede nating gawin.


Leave a Reply

Categories

