Posted by: Leap of Faith | May 19, 2008

Psyching Myself


I got this tag from my friend, Nell, last week.  Unfortunately, due to my current work load, I had to put it aside for a while.  Anyway, I need a break from my work, so I am attempting to finish this meme.  Wish me luck!

Here’s the instructions: Link to the person that tagged you and then post the rules on your blog. Answer the questions and tag seven (7) random people at the end of your post by linking to their blogs. Let these random people know that they are tagged by leaving comments in their blog. And last, let your tagger know when your entry is up.

Here are the questions and, of course, my answers… drum roll please….

A period of time in your life when you felt protected. 

A few weeks before I left for the Mid East, my whole family (as in with my wife, children, a cousin and several nephews and nieces) decided to watch the Chronicles of Narnia.  It was a great movie and we all had fun.  While driving home, we passed by a neighbors house, which had a party.  Since the host invited so many people, some of their guests had to stay in the garage. I was driving slowly when exactly in front of their house three children appeared from nowhere and suddenly crossed the street. I stepped on the brake but still nudged the last child, who was only two years old! There were so many cars parked in the area that the children, who were playing between two cars, were hidden from view from everyone. 

After all the panic, we brought the poor kid to the hospital and everything turned out fine. Apparently, the car stopped just in time but since the boy was running he must have lost his balance when the bumper nudged him.  If that is not divine protection, I do not know what is.

A period of time in your life when you felt unprotected.

My parents separated when I was around 5 or 6 years old.  Growing up fatherless at that time was such a difficult moment in my life.  For one, separation was not so common back then (or people kept mum about it) that, for a young child, one can easily feel unprotected from nasty and hurtful comments from other people.  I hated those moments. However, I guess things like that happen so you can be stronger and so you will be reminded that, when the time comes, you have to make sure that your own children do not experience the same thing.

The first time you discovered power.

As far as I can recall, I do not remember a time when I felt “powerful” over people.  I guess I am not the type of person who would enjoy having any mental, emotional or physical “hold” on any individual.  I usually associate power with fear and I do not like people to do what I say because they are afraid of me.  I would rather have them follow out of respect for me.

Physically, though, I feel powerful when I lift my three children with my arms while their mother is tightly strapped around my bulging legs… asa pa, feeling He-Man!

A person who’s life has affected you the most.

The person who has positively affected my life the most is my mother (who is also my father).  She is not perfect.  In fact, she has many flaws… too many to mention (wow, pang slum book yon ha).  Despite all these imperfections, her emotional strength just overflows and this has kept my whole family alive even with all the difficulties we encountered while growing up. We are what we are now because of her.  She gave her children everything that we needed to survive and, now, we are passing what we learned from her to our own children.

A book that has affected you the most.

Naku, sablay na ako dito.  To be honest, I do not read a lot.  In fact, I only started to read because of Pinky, who is was a voracious reader. 

Harry Potter series, pwede na ba yon?  Those are the only books that I read from start to finish, even though it took me ages to finish them.  Uuuuh, wait, I also read all the books of Dan Brown – yes, all four of them.  Wow, I feel proud… I feel like I am a voracious reader too 🙂 

A piece of music or song that affected you the most.

I love music but I get more caught up with the melody of a song rather than the lyrics.  I get really emotional (uuuy, medyo OA yon ha) when I hear Ugoy sa Duyan ni Nanay (hmmm, mukhang mali yung title non ha). 

I also get moved when I listen to operatic-type songs (the ones sung by Andrea Bocelli) even if I do not understand what it means. Baduy, but listening to those types of music can really get you emotionally charged up… seriously, you guys should try it.

A movie or film that affected you the most.

Mel Gibson’s Passion of the Christ was so touching.  I remember being so moved by it.  The gruesome way it was presented is more than enough to make you feel guilty.  So whenever you feel that you are leaning towards the dark side again, I suggest that you grab a hold of the DVD and watch it over and over again.  It is very effective.

Who do I tag?  Nell this is the hardest part not because I do not want to tag anyone but because medyo limited lang ang “regular” visitors ko (feeling talaga…).

Anyway, I tag all those who also love or got moved by the movie Passion of the Christ.  Come on, I know there are a lot of you out there.  May lightning strike anyone who denies being moved by this movie just to avoid doing a tag.  What a disgrace!  Hehehe!

 

 

Responses

  1. ayan, nakilala ka pa ng husto…madugo nga itong tag ni Nell, pagiisipin ka o kaya ay medyo pupukawin ang mga nakaraan mo *lol*

    sa# 1, nangyari rin sa akin, pero ako yung kid..namutla yung mamang nagmamaneho talaga..mga bata kasi ano, walang ginawa kundi magtatakbo tsk 😛
    #2 talagang what hurts us only makes us stronger

    have a good week sa inyo ni Pinky and kids!

    Thess, it was so stressful just to think na you may have killed a person and a child for that matter. Pinky and I were calling the family of the child almost everyday for a week just to check on his progress. Thankfully, everything turned out okay in the end. Ngayon ang biruan namin whenever there are kids on the street ay dapat umalis sila sa daan since may track record na ako.

    I agree with you Thess… it does make you a stronger person in the end.

    Have a good rest of the week to you too.

  2. I’m so proud of you for finishing this “thought-provoking” tag! 🙂 Mwah!

    Now, if only some of your “powers” could rub off on me so I could finish mine too… hehehe 😉

    Kaya mo yan… I’ll wait for your answers. But in the meantime, let’s enjoy our vacation first.

  3. hello keith. hindi ka pa pala reader sa lagay na yan hah? harry potter series and dan browns book, madugong basahan yata yan. hehehe! and speaking of music, i love andrea bocelli’s arias. nakakatunaw ng stress and though we don’t know the lyrics and half the meaning of it. the melody and the emotion is enough to move us into a senti mode. don’t you think? and your mom, bless her heart for raising such wonderful children. just look at what you and your siblings have become. truly, you all are wonderful people 😀

    it’s so good to know more things about you, keith. thanks so much for kindly doing this tag. God bless 😉

    Nell, I realy get moved by those types of music. I can’t remember what CD of Andrea I have but his music is just so powerful. I agree with you that just listening to the music and the singing can emotionally move you.

    All mothers are really God’s gift to children. He really knew what we all needed.

    Thanks for tagging me.

  4. i enjoyed reading your answers keith! 🙂 it’s also my mom whose life affected mine the most. 🙂

    take care and God bless!

    Thanks, Weng. Oo nga, I’m sure we are the same when it comes to our moms. It is so nice to be blessed with such great mothers!

  5. hi keith, i loved reading your answers too. nell also tagged me with this one and i have to agree, it took a lot of soul-searching. 🙂

    hindi ko kayang ma-picture sa brain ko yung image of you as He-Man, hahaha! marami-raming powers of greyskull ang kailangan keith. 😀

  6. haha i love passion of the Christ bro. I have both VCD and DVD copies. para pag nasira ang alin man sa player ng dalawa I can still watch it.

    Ako din, I hate it when people follow me just because they are afraid of me. I always tell that to my students and my nephews and niece. I rather level with them than be above them pero takot naman sa akin.

    Kumusta na bakasyon nyo ni pinky sa dubai?

    Maglalabas lang ako ng stress, lately I really feel lost. para akong robot na sumusunod lang sa ritmo ng nakagawian. Hayy I really need variations in my life. Ang hirap pag monotonous ang buhay. wala lang nasabi ko lang. You caught me in one of my depressed state when I received your comment on my blog…

    eto minsan di nakikita ng readers sa likod ng author ng OTWOMD. kala puro halakhak lang ang alam. hehe


Leave a Reply

Categories

