Posted by: Leap of Faith | February 27, 2008

A Gory Night with Mr T


Sweeney Todd - Theatrical Poster 

After just mentioning in my last post how I had to restrain myself from leaving my whole family when they wanted to watch the Disney movie, Enchanted, last weekend, I finally had my chance to see Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street last night.  I was fortunate to have found an opportunity when they announced that we would have another company sponsored dinner in Bahrain. Of course, I would have enjoyed watching the show with Pinky.  However, that was just not possible given that I had a dinner to attend and since the movie was rated R18 – meaning someone had to watch over the kids – thanks for taking that role, Hon 🙂

Anyway, being the musical fanatic that I am, I can not just fully express how happy I am that plays like these are finally making it into the big screen.  It is no secret that watching extravagant productions like these on stage cost an arm and a leg for most people like us (and that is not even counting the fact that you have to find a way to transport yourself from wherever you are to the Big Apple or the West End).  So, given our limited budget, I made a promise to myself (which I do not plan to break, if I can help it) that I would watch any musical that is made into a movie. Of course, part of the reason for this promise is to also help the movie make money and, hopefully, that will encourage producers to make more shows. You guys know naman that shows like these are usually not commercially appealing.

Having said that, I am sure you all know how bias I would be if I give a personal review of Sweeney (uuuy, feeling critic). The only thing I can say is that Johnny Depp really played the part (although I felt his singing voice lacked that evil, menacing tone that was needed in some songs) and that Tim Burton’s gothic and dark style is just perfect for this story.  Needless to say, I had a great time.

To all of you, please (please, please, please) watch this movie if you have the chance.  I must warn you, though, that this is no country show for old men and, definitely, there will be blood!

Responses

  1. had the chance to watch the sweeney todd productions in charlotte, houston, and recently sa miami, pero no one was interested enough to go with me. i desperately need a bff! sigh.

    the movie, siguro i will have to wait for the DVD naman (kasi r-18 and/or no babysitter).

    Sawi ka talaga, Meeya. I know how it is when you want to watch something but you can not because of the restrictions. Grrr. At least sa Pinas you can asko someone to helkp you watch the kids. Anyway, catch it on DVD.


Leave a Reply

Categories

