Posted by: Leap of Faith | December 4, 2007

Christmas Meme


I was bloghopping yesterday when I came across this Christmas Meme.  Just for the fun of it, I decided to give it a go.  However, before you proceed, can someone tell me what the term “meme” means… nakikigaya lang kasi ako, eh.

1. Egg Nog or Hot Chocolate?

Hot chocolate, definitely!  When we were back in Manila, we would each drink a mug full of hot chocolate while we sat around the lighted Christmas tree.  Pinky and I took this opportunity to talk with the boys about anything and everything we could think of.  Occasionally, we would also sing some Christmas carols (kahit na out of tune).

Now that we are here in the Mid East, we try to continue this tradition sans the Christmas tree and lights.  What we do is light the lamp in our sala (for ambience) and boil a special mix of orange, apple and cinnamon that eventually fills the house with a really sweet smelling aroma.  Of course, the mood will not be complete without our warm cup of Swiss Miss Hot Chocolate mix and the story telling.

2. Does Santa wrap presents or just set them under the tree?

Oh, Santa just leaves the gift somewhere in the house (not necessarily under the tree) .  There was one Christmas when he crept in our house, while we (including the children)were all awake.  During that time, Rafael heard a noise in his room on the second floor while we were all on the ground floor and when we checked what it was, we saw the gifts of the boys on their beds.

The following year, the boys decided to lock the whole house (even the windows). However, when we came back from our family reunion, the boys saw that the Old Man still made it in, ate some brownies and milk and left a trail of clues around the house for them to follow.  The gifts, of course, where unwrapped and hidden somewhere in our house.

Last year, we moved to KSA.  We were all sure that Santa will not drop by our house this time.  However, the ever reliable Red Ball still came and left yet another trail of clues in our building.  The boys and I had to go to our rooftop and check all the satellite dishes just to find their gifts.

So there, Santa does not wrap his gifts and does not just leave the presents under the tree!

3. Colored lights on tree/house or white?

White!  I love staring at Christmas lights… they can make everything so magical.

4. Do you hang mistletoe?

Nah.  Just kiss (my wife) anywhere is my motto.

5. When do you put your decorations up?

We used to put our tree and decorations up on All Saint’s Day.  The earlier you put it up, the more time you have to enjoy them.  Here in KSA, we only have a few decorations.  Pinky turned our small nook into our Christmas corner and we already have the socks of the children up – yehey!

6. What is your favorite holiday dish?

I eat anything, as long as they are not innards. Pritchon.. Yum-o!

7. Favorite Holiday memory as a child:

My siblings and I used to peek in our Christmas presents and then wrap it again.  We couldn’t contain our excitement, it was so much fun.  I also have fond memories of going to the “Feria” in Roxas Boulevard (i.e. Boom na Boom), Pasig (i.e. Payanig sa Pasig) and Alabang (i.e. Big Bang sa Alabang).

8. When and how did you learn the truth about Santa?

What about him? He is real! Need I say more?

9. Do you open a gift on Christmas Eve?

Hmmm, not always.  We usually open on Christmas day.  The kids open a few gifts on Christmas Eve, though.

10. How do you decorate your Christmas Tree?

We used to have two different sets of trimmings – a red and gold theme and a silver and purple one.  Pinky and I love Christmas so we make sure that we go all out during this time of year.  We try to decorate our tree with as much lights as we can – I think our 6-feet tree was covered with at least 1000 lights bulbs.  Since we moved to the KSA, our Christmas theme has always been “minimalist.”

11. Snow! Love it or Dread it?

It looks nice in the postcard.  But thank goodness we don’t live in a place with snow. I can’t imagine myself shovelling the snow from the sidewalk or roof – I’d die doing it!

12. Do you ice skate?

Nah!

13. Do you remember your favorite gift?

To be honest, no. After a while, it all becomes the same… shirts, socks and other clothing apparel.  I like it, though, because I don’t really shop during the year.  All my clothes are KP (not the shoes from the ’80s) as in “katas ng pasko.”  I have a tendency to be cheap on myself so unless it is given to me I really don’t buy too much things.

14. What’s the most important thing about the Holidays for you?

Just being with family. Seeing the kids enjoying the moment and being happy.

15. What is your favorite Holiday Dessert?

Hmmm, hard one.  There’s just so many yummy stuff out there.  Cakes from Conti’s are always delish whatever time of year.  Food for the gods… love it! Fruit Cake… pass!

16. What is your favorite holiday tradition?

Sitting round the tree while enjoying the cool weather, the Christmas lights and a cup of hot chocolate.

17. What tops your tree?

Amma.  My paternal grandmother died sometime in December a few years back.  Luigi and Rafael were young then so in order for them not to be freaked out with the concept of death, we decided to call our tree-top angel, Amma (which is grandmother in Chinese).

18. Which do you prefer: giving or receiving?

Hmmm, I guess a giving person.  I don’t like surprises so I hate it when somebody gives me a gift and they try to wait for my initial reaction when I open the present – whether I like it or not.  Hirap noon ha… what if you don’t like the gift… you have to say, it’s nice pa rin di ba?

19. What is your favorite Christmas Song?

I like Payapang Daigdig (especially when sung by a choir).  Oh, I love Christmas carols except for the Little Drummer Boy.  Always, wanted to go to a hotel lobby and just listen to a choir sing.  Pinky and I never had the chance to do it though. 

20. Candy Canes! Yuck or Yum?

Not really a fan, so I guess it must be yuck for me… good to use as decorations though.

Responses

  1. Hmmm…very interesting! 🙂 Your replies turned me waxing nostalgic about our “Christmases past” and made me miss Paskong Pinoy even more! Best Christmas gift? Di ba ako dapat yung sagot mo (since bday ko rin naman pasko)?!?

    13 more days before we go home and 19 more days before we experience Paskong Pinoy again. Yehey! I am just realizing now how much I miss it. I hope our vacation now won’t be a let down.

    oh, yup, you are my best Christmas present. how can i forget?!

  2. i heard the UP Madrigal Singers sing Payapang Daigdig once. it has since become my number one favorite christmas song, ever. 🙂

    and, dahil nerd ako, meme (pronounced as “meeem”, btw) is a technical term used by evolutionists to describe a unit of transmission or imitation, particularly a cultural one. somewhere along the way, that term was “kidnapped” by the blogging world and applied to the imitation of ideas (and later on its evolution – loosely, parang since you put your own spin to the idea, it changes, ergo evolves) via its transmission from one blog to another. eventually, tags and memes parang became one and the same. 😛

    i got this idea from another fellow blogger whom i asked dati. i hope i was able to make sense, haha!

    Meeya, the song is so nice. I really love it. I’m so sure the Madrigal signers sang it so well.

    And yes, you are such a nerd! Your explanation sounded as if this was extracted from an encylopedia. Buti na lang you explained it to us. I always thought it was pronounced as “meh-meh” or “mi-mi.” Wait, this is totally unrelated, but did you study law in Mendiola?

  3. nope, i studied law at ateneo. don’t i, you know, sound like an atenean? hehe.

    actually, I knew you were from Makati (hehehe!). I was just curious since I saw someone called “meeya” in San Beda law site so I assumed that it was you – alam mo naman, unique ang iyong name.

  4. oo nga naman, who needs a mistletoe? when you kiss your love one anytime. dba? heheheh. have a great week end, keith 😀

    Nell, I’m sure wala ka ring mistletoe sa bahay, no?! Di ba mas okay na strike anywhere and anytime 🙂

  5. correction lang po: i mean, * when you can *


Leave a Reply

Categories

