Posted by: Leap of Faith | September 20, 2007

Somewhere over the rainbow is a wonderful world


I woke up early today (as I always do on weekends) and decided to lurk the blogosphere. What I found was a song, which was originally introduced to me by Bro Cuz (Rinel). The song (s) is, I\’m sure, very familiar to all of us but the melody, I think, is what makes it so beautiful … it is so simple yet it touches the core of anyone who listens to it. I hope you all enjoy it.

Hon, advance happy 17th year anniversary (as a couple…)

PS: In case you want to know the background of the song (note: taken from comments made by Aridzoner in Twango)…

The story behind this one take song is wonderful. It seems Israel Kamakawiwo\’ole couldn\’t sleep one night and called his producer to get into the studio. His behemouth 700 pounds stood next to his producers 150 when they arrived. He sat in a chair with the Uke leaned forward and said \”This one\’s for Gabby\”…and began the song. He blows a line which no one notices, adds an unexpected chord change and seemlessly moves from Over the Rainbow to What a Wonderful World and back again. When he finished his session he left and never sang the song again. IZ died a little while after working on the first of his albums which carried this title. Anyway, thinking about that smooth voice coming out of that huge , gentle man always makes me pause. The song is haunting by itself but knowing the history adds, I think, alittle to its melancholy.

Responses

  1. I’ve always loved “What A Wonderful World” for the very wholesome, feel-good vibe it gives me each time I listen to it. Adding a new twist to it was an equally welcome change… Indeed, after listening to this song, one can’t help but agree: Somewhere over the rainbow, is truly a wonderful world!

    Thanks, Hon, for making the past 17 years truly wonderful! I don’t mind the rainclouds which come from time to time as I know we would always be looking forward to seeing more beautiful rainbows together. I love you!

  2. Oh Keith! I love love this version. I’ve always wondered about it kasi I remember hearing this version in several movies. Thank you, thank you for this! I fell in love with the song Somewher Over the Rainbow after I heard Connie Talbot sing it in Britain’s Got Talent. 🙂 I hope to get Abby to learn it. Nyahaha! 😀

  3. Hon, thanks for a good 17 years… I also look forward to spending more wonderful years with you (gosh, hope we don’t sound like two middle aged lovers who are about to go down hill… yikes!).

  4. Weng, that cutie little Connie sure made this Over the Rainbow a hit. It is so refreshing to hear another version of it.. and with a twist. I’m glad you enjoyed it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

