Posted by: Leap of Faith | December 20, 2006

Looking forward to Christmas


It is funny how things change so fast. A few weeks ago, I was feeling worried that we haven’t felt the spirit of Christmas. Now, I am excited and looking forward to it.

I’m sure this year’s celebration will be like no other. Our theme is simplicity. I must say though that I will definitely miss the big gatherings that I am used too back home. But having a small and intimate celebration with my family (and a few friends) may not be too bad after all.

We are planning to attend the (8 pm) Christmas service in Aramco on the 24th. I’m pretty sure feel na feel namin ang pag kanta ng Christmas carols during the mass. I think that is the only place where we can sing “Gloria in Excelsis…Deo!” without being afraid of a Muttawa calling our attention. After the service, we will go straight home to have a simple dinner with Rinel, Obet and Vic (colleagues from NCB) and Dr Berly (SAAD).

I am really not sure how the night will go. I told Pinky that it would be nice to read the Christmas story and possibly have a group prayer complete with dimmed lights and lighted candles. However, we are so afraid that we might all end up crying the night away since the ambience is too sentimental. Anyway, I will just update you on how our night goes.

Rinel will be going to work on the 25th (boo hoo hoo!). However, I just found out that here in NCB, Christians are not expected to go to the office on Christmas day. Yipee! That means I am on day-off. Ang bait talaga ng mga amo ko .

Pinky and I have decided to celebrate her birthday (yes, it is on Christmas day) in Bahrain. We will be crossing the “Freedom Bridge” to may be watch a movie and eat some pork. After that, we will be going back to Dammam in the evening to have Pinky’s birthday dinner in one of the nearby hotels.

So far our Christmas looks very promising. It is something I am really looking forward too. Hope all of you have a great Christmas too.

Responses

  1. So far, so good! Let’s keep our fingers crossed that we will pull through without any major hitches…

  2. woohoo! that’s the spirit! keyword here is ‘intimate’. 😉 i will be keeping my toes crossed for you too! 🙂

    ps: will be emailing you shortly with a mini comeback of *party*whoopers! for your xmas envelopes.

  3. yey! Merry Christmas!

  4. Merry Christmas!!! and Advance Happy Birthday Pinky =)

  5. Merry Christmas y’all! Carrie, thanks too for the advanced birthday greetings for Pinky!

  6. Good for you, Keith! 🙂 I look forward to the details of your first Christmas in the Kingdom. While it may be a hell of a lot different from what you’re used to, I’m sure you guys will have a blast. What matters is that all five of you are together. 🙂 Merry Christmas!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

