Posted by: Leap of Faith | November 17, 2006

The Downside of Being Far Away from Home


Last weekend was quite hectic.  Aside from the usual house cleaning and groceries, Marga came down with a viral infection.  Pinky and I just found out about it last Thursday night, while we were watching a pirated copy of the Da Vinci Code.  We were so excited to watch the show but was so disappointed when the DVD kept on stopping on the exciting parts.  Hay, the price you have to pay for buying fake stuff.  After trying several times to fast forward the show (oops! that is so ’80’s – Betamax, remember?), or should I say skip it forward, we decided to call it a night.  Everything we did seemed hopeless with that $@!#* DVD!!!

Anyway, going back to Marga, she started feeling warm that night so we decided to give her a sponge bath and some paracetamol.  Her temperature has been playing at the mid to high 37s, which I understand is still normal for infants. Pinky and I just get so panicky everytime our children get sick that we want to give them all the medicines to avoid the sickness from progressing. It is so difficult to see your children getting so fuzzy because of an illness… oh Marga, if I can just spank that naughty virus away.

Back in Manila, we got so used to having “Grammy Doctor” nearby that we hardly panick when the boys come down with a viral infection or an allergy.  If  mom was out, we would always have Wiwa and Wowo (my parents in-law) to rely on for their usual visits to monitor the children’s condition, especially when Pinky and I are both in the office.  Those were the days.

Now, Pinky and I will have to rely on ourselves (and the few doctor and nurse friends we’ve met) to pull through. Oh… Lord help us! I think I failed miserably in Parenting 101.  Anyway, thank you for the marvels of technology as we can send emails and text messages to our relatives back home – our security blankets, who will assure us every now and then that everything is okay.  Their constant prayers are also comforting especially when the going gets tough.   So far everything is in control and Pinky and I  still do not have to press our panick and self-destruct buttons.

We are keeping our fingers crossed that Marga will feel better soon.  I will keep you posted on the developments.

 

 

 

Responses

  1. I know what you mean even if I have yet to actually experience being away from the people I hold dear. It’s such great comfort to know that help from family, people who really care, is just a phone call away. 🙂

  2. Weng, you will never know when that happens… maybe soon, right? Hehehe. Buti na lang uso yung “can I phone a friend?”


Leave a Reply

Categories

