Posted by: Leap of Faith | July 9, 2006

Free to Drive


Just wanted to share that I was finally able to get my Saudi Driver’s License.  The whole process was soooo difficult.  My colleague and I had to go back two mornings to just finish the paper work (writen in Arabic!) and take the exam.

The exam was composed of an actual vertical parking test and identification of street signs.  Since we did not have our own car, we had to wait for our turn to use the free vehicle (there were about a hundred people ahead of us also waiting for their turn on the car).  The wait was so bad since we had to do it under the heat of the desert sun.  I think it was easily 40 degrees that day.  Fortunately, we were able to complete the practical test with only a few minor mistakes.  The identification of the street signs were the worst for me.  The nly street sign I know from Manila is no u-turn, left turn or right turn.  I never knew that other signs existed!  Anyway, there were more than fifty street signs and I only recognized a handful.  The person conducting the exam got frustrated with me especially since I kept on mixing up all the signs.  I’m sure it was only through God’s grace that I pulled through.

Anyway, I finally got it and thank God it is valid for five years.  I do not want to go through that experience again.

In preparation for the arrival of my family next month, I went on a car-hunting yesterday.  It was so exciting – so many cars to choose from.  I have decided to take a Chevrolet Trailblazer EXT.  It is a seven-seater SUV with a 4.2 engine (is that right?).  I am hoping that my application for a car lease will be approved soon.  Anyway,  that’s all for now. 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

