Posted by: Leap of Faith! | October 1, 2006

Isang Gunting … Isang Suklay …


I’m not sure if you guys have heard of Ricky Reyes’ “Isang Gunting, Isang Suklay, Hanapbuhay” program, which basically teaches Pinoys to learn how to cut hair for a living.  Well if you haven’t then I am telling you that there is such a program and Pinky has seriously taken it to heart… may be except for the hanapbuhay part.

Luigi and Rafael are the (un)fortunate victims of their mother’s boredom (ooops! undying love pala). Since the boys arrived here last 16Aug06, I have not yet been able to bring them to the barbershop… with good reason, mind you.  My official excuse is that the crazy store hours of Ramadan has made it difficult for me to bring the boys to the barber (since we have to go there at around9PM). But my real reason is that getting a haircut here is quite expensive so until the boys have a Fabio looking hairstyle then they look perfectly fine by me.

However, these new-do (i.e. curly locks for Luigi and bohemian (shoot at any direction) hairstyle for Rafael) is something Pinky can not take.  Back in Manila, the boys always look like those neat looking PMAers (as in short hair) para lumabas naman ang tisoy features nila, which, by the way, they got from me (please refer to our photoalbums in this site to see the resemblance).

In order to address the problem, Pinky grabbed the boys’ school scissors, my black comb and of she went cutting the hair of those poor boys.  Thank God she came back to her senses and realized that seeing the advertisments of Ricky Reyes was not enough to immediately make you a great hairstylist… she ended up just cutting the sideburns and back part of the boys hair. Hon, in case you forgot, you actually have to attend a short hairstyling course in order to be able to create your own style (i.e. Channel). Otherwise, you end up with an Edward Scissorhand creation!

Don’t worry, I’m sure in time you will master how to cut our hair with perfect precision.  I guarantee you this especially since I know that hairstyling runs in your blood… right, Papa Jess? Also, cutting is really in your veins. I’m sure Rina and Pippo can attest to that.

I’m still mustering the confidence to actually go under your scissors, please practice first on the boys… they have no say anyway!  I promise to let your cut my hair when you can truly declare that you work is worthy of Ricky’s “Ganda ng lola mo!” approval. Until then, I shall be contented paying a high price in that shabby looking barbershop that I go to.

 

 

Responses

  1. HahahA! Don’t worry, Pinky’s not the only one who cut hairs of her loveones. In our case, it was Donnie who wants me to cut his hair. Besides the fact that getting a haircut here is expensive, Donnie had a few bad experiences having his hair done! Before we had Tasha, I think I got to cut his hair 3x. It is only now that I’m too busy w/ Tasha, he’s left to find a good haircutter for himself. Now he found one finally! A barber shop talaga.Yehey!! Philippine quality na daw! enough work for me! hehehe.

  2. This is the right blog for everyone who hopes to understand this topic.
    You realize so much its almost hard to argue with you
    (not that I personally will need to…HaHa). You definitely put a
    brand new spin on a topic which has been discussed for years.
    Wonderful stuff, just wonderful!

  3. What’s up, I check your blogs regularly. Your story-telling style is awesome, keep up the good work!

  4. First off I would like to say terrific blog!
    I had a quick question that I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was curious to know how you center yourself and clear your thoughts before writing. I’ve had a tough time
    clearing my thoughts in getting my ideas out. I do enjoy writing
    however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes tend to be lost simply just trying to
    figure out how to begin. Any ideas or tips? Thank you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

